APTO began in 2004 when a number of Australian and New Zealand members of the International Association of Practical Theology met at Australian Catholic University (Brisbane) with a view to founding a professional association for practical theologians in the Oceania region. Foundation members of APTO were Brian Kelty, the first president of APTO, Gerard Hall, Anne Tuohy, Damien Casey, David Pascoe and Mary Eastham. The Association quickly grew as practical theologians from New Zealand, the islands of Oceania and Australia were invited to join APTO.

APTO 2011 Conference, Goroka, Papua New Guinea

Honorary Fellowships

An Honorary Fellowship is the highest award APTO may bestow upon an individual. This award is in recognition of a significant contribution to the mission of APTO and the wider society. Honorary Fellows are not required to pay annual membership fees. 

Rev Associate Professor Gerard Hall SM (2013)

Aunty Joan Hendriks (2015)

Rev Dr Neil Darragh (2015)

Associate Professor Patrick McArdle (2018)

Life Members

The award of Life Member is made in recognition of outstanding service to the Association of Practical Theology in Oceania over a number of years. Life Members are not required to pay annual membership fees.

Bet Green (2018)

In Memoriam

APTO remembers Priscilla Epe, Scott Eastham, John Pierce, Aunty Joan Hendriks and Noel Connolly.